By Trix Wilkins

PBS Little Women

Image courtesy of PBS and Masterpiece

I had originally planned to write a post about Little Women and the compassionate use of taxes today (stay tuned for a future post if that takes your fancy this end of financial year. Disclaimer: I am not a tax agent or tax lawyer and in no way affiliated with the IRS, ATO or any other tax-related organization).

Then I heard about PBS and Masterpiece (the creators of Downton Abbey and the Sherlock Holmes series starring Benedict Cumberbatch) producing a TV mini-series of Little Women – and so I’m opting to write about that instead (taxes or TV, hmm…).

Here’s an excerpt from the PBS feature on this upcoming series:

Writer and executive producer Heidi Thomas says: “Little Women is one of the most loved novels in the English language, and with good reason. Its humanity, humour and tenderness never date, and as a study of love, grief and growing up it has no equal. There could be no better time to revisit the story of a family striving for happiness in an uncertain world, and I am thrilled to be bringing the March girls to a new generation of viewers.”

Now it looks like casting hasn’t yet been announced as far as I can work out (though principal photography is due to start in July), so until it has, we are free to imagine!

My thoughts on the ideal Little Women cast…

Jo March: Emma Watson

I know Emma is a versatile actor, but I still associate her with the book-loving intellectually-brilliant sassy yet devoted (Ron! How could you not have noticed for so many years!) Hermoine Granger from Harry Potter who reminds me an awful lot of Jo March (if Jo had gone to Hogwarts I think she would have been friends with Hermoine).

Beth March: Jennifer Lawrence

Am I choosing actors who might not pass for teenagers? Nonsense, if Elizabeth Taylor could play Amy then I don’t see why Jennifer Lawrence couldn’t play Beth! Beth is sweet and generous with spunk simmering under the surface. Not exactly Katniss Everdeen of the Hunger Games, but I bet Beth would have traded places with her sister too.

Meg March: Mandy Moore

She was great in Nicholas Sparks’ A Walk to Remember as Jamie Sullivan, and I think she’d be lovely as the beautiful eldest sister Meg of “Vanity Fair” who marries John Brooke for love not money.

Amy March: Alexis Bledel

I wonder if Alexis will be forever in our minds Rory Gilmore, but for some reason I can still see her playing Amy. This might weird out fans who are pro-Jo-Laurie and also pro-Rory-Jess though.

Theodore Laurence: Milo Ventimiglia

Yes the age thing might be an issue, but I don’t care (see note on Beth March). I think he’d make a great Laurie and had that whole brooding book-reading struggling-artist thing down pat in Gilmore Girls (plus he is actually Italian).

Mrs March: Winona Ryder

I think it would just be poetic to have the woman who played Jo March twenty years ago play the mother who encouraged Jo to write and who was a kindred spirit!

Mr March: Christian Bale

I am laughing so much right now as I write this. My pro-Jo-Laurie leanings are coming out strong (see note on Mrs March). It would be poetry, absolute poetry, for the Jo and Laurie of 1994 to play the married Mr and Mrs March of 2018.

I have no picks for Professor Bhaer and John Brooke. I’m too busy being delighted by the idea of Winona Ryder and Christian Bale returning in this series.

Who would you like to see play Jo March and Theodore Laurence in the new Little Women series? (And the rest of the Little Women cast if that takes your fancy!)

P.S. Three days to go until the Courtship of Jo March Comment Challenge closes on June 30! To enter, post a question regarding the novel OR a comment answering this question: “Why do you think Jo and Laurie should have been together?” here.

